The Local Alert

Georgia · Whitfield County · I-75

I-75 Accident in Whitfield County, GA: SUV Driver Cited After Tractor-Trailer Overturns South of Dalton

A tractor-trailer overturned across I-75 southbound at Exit 328, and Georgia State Patrol cited the driver of the SUV, not the truck driver, for improper lane change. Lanes reopened after more than two and a half hours.

Published Aug. 11, 2026, 7:20 p.m. ET 6 min read Reopened

Key facts

Where
Interstate 75 southbound at Exit 328, near South Bypass / Connector 3, south of Dalton — Whitfield County, Georgia
When
Just before 9 a.m., Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026
What
Two-vehicle accident. An SUV changed lanes and struck a tractor-trailer in the right lane; the rig lost control and overturned
Cited
The driver of the SUV — improper lane change. No citation against the truck driver is reported
Injuries
Minor. No deaths reported
Road impact
All southbound lanes blocked; reopened more than 2.5 hours after the accident
Investigating
Georgia State Patrol
Status
Road is open. This is not a current closure

What happened on I-75 south of Dalton?

A tractor-trailer ended up on its side across Interstate 75 southbound in Whitfield County, and the driver who was cited was not the one driving it.

Local 3 News, in a report by digital producer Courtney Goins, writes: “A two-vehicle crash Saturday morning on Interstate 75 Southbound resulted in minor injuries.” It places the time as “just before 9:00am” and says the accident “involved an overturned tractor-trailer.”

The sequence, as Local 3 News reports it from the Georgia State Patrol: “An SUV made an illegal lane change and struck the tractor-trailer in the right lane.” The tractor-trailer then lost control and overturned.

And the outcome: “The driver of the SUV was cited for improper lane change.”

Advertisement

Hurt in an accident with a tractor-trailer?

Ask what a police report actually establishes, what an adjuster is allowed to ask, and how long you have to act.

Trained on thousands of top injury lawyers — not a chatbot guessing.Answers in minutes, day or night.No forms. No spam. No callbacks.
1-866-CALL-HIM (225-5446)
Free24/7Any question

Did this accident happen this week?

No. It happened on Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026.

  • The Local 3 News story carries an Aug. 8, 2026 dateline, with an updated Aug. 10, 2026 stamp on the version that carries the citation detail.
  • The text describes “a two-vehicle crash Saturday morning” at “just before 9:00am.”

In 2026, Aug. 8 fell on a Saturday. The accident was Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026, just before 9 a.m.; the first report went up the same day, and the update carrying the citation went up two days later on Monday, Aug. 10.

Where exactly did the accident happen?

Local 3 News puts the closure at “Exit 328 near South Bypass/Connector 3, south of Dalton.”

Public map data fills in the geography. OpenStreetMap maps the Exit 328 southbound ramp at roughly 34.685° N, 85.001° W — about six miles in a straight line south of downtown Dalton. The exit serves GA 3 Connector, mapped as “South Bypass,” which ties into the South Dalton Bypass carrying US 41 and GA 3. The same data maps I-75 there as three lanes in each direction with a posted limit of 70 mph, with Exit 326 about two and a half miles south and Exit 333 about five miles north.

Exit 328 — GA 3 Connector (South Bypass), south of Dalton I-75 SOUTHBOUND — travel direction → Left lane Center lane Right lane tractor-trailer SUV 1. SUV changes lanes to the right 2. Contact in the right lane 3. Tractor-trailer overturns Schematic — not to scale. Lane count from public map data; exact positions are not reported.
Schematic, not to scale. The sequence is drawn from the account Local 3 News attributes to the Georgia State Patrol: an SUV made a lane change and struck a tractor-trailer traveling in the right lane of I-75 southbound, and the tractor-trailer lost control and overturned. OpenStreetMap maps I-75 at Exit 328 as three lanes in each direction with a 70 mph posted limit; the vehicles' exact lane positions, speeds and resting places are not reported by any source.

Who was cited, and who was not?

VehicleWhat the report says it didCitation
SUV“made an illegal lane change and struck the tractor-trailer in the right lane”Cited for improper lane change
Tractor-trailerWas traveling in the right lane; lost control and overturned after being struckNo citation reported

Neither driver has been named, no age has been given for either, and no source says which vehicle the injured person or people were in.

No citation against the tractor-trailer driver has been reported, and no source states that the truck driver was cleared.

What does “improper lane change” mean in Georgia?

Georgia Code § 40-6-48, Driving on Roadways Laned for Traffic, provides that a vehicle “shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such movement can be made with safety.”

The duty in that last clause is not simply to signal. It is to establish first that the move can be made safely, and only then make it.

The Georgia Department of Driver Services points schedule lists § 40-6-48 under the heading “Improper/Erratic Lane Change/Failure to Maintain Lane.”

The code section written on this citation has not been published.

What is the citation worth on a Georgia license?

The DDS points schedule assigns 3 points to code section 40-6-48, “Improper/Erratic Lane Change/Failure to Maintain Lane.” That schedule puts reckless driving at 4 points, aggressive driving at 6, and unlawful passing of a school bus at 6.

DDS states that “A driver with 15 points in a 24-month period will be suspended.”

Points attach on conviction, not when a citation is handed over at a roadside.

Advertisement

Ask VIC
Georgia victim assistance line

Get your questions answered.Free, any hour.

Ask what happens next, who pays for what, and what to expect from here.

Answers for victims and their families.Assistance around the clock.No forms. No cost.
(855) 5-ASKVIC
Free24/7Any question

Has the SUV driver been convicted?

No. The SUV driver has been charged with a traffic offense, has not been convicted of anything, and is presumed innocent unless the case is proven or resolved against them in traffic court.

Local 3 News reports no court date, no plea, and no outcome, and does not name the driver.

How badly was anyone hurt?

Local 3 News reports the two-vehicle accident “resulted in minor injuries.” No deaths are reported.

The report does not say how many people were hurt, which vehicle they were in, whether anyone was transported to a hospital, or what any condition was after the scene cleared. That is the only injury description on the record.

How long was I-75 southbound blocked?

Local 3 News first reported that “All lanes are closed at Exit 328 near South Bypass/Connector 3, south of Dalton.” The update reports that “Authorities reopened the interstate more than 2.5 hours after the crash.”

With the accident just before 9 a.m., that puts the reopening somewhere after about 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 8. No exact reopening time has been published, and no recovery details for this scene are reported.

Is I-75 still closed right now?

No. The lanes reopened on Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026, more than two and a half hours after the accident. Nothing in this story affects traffic today.

511 Georgia, the Georgia Department of Transportation's traveler information service, publishes real-time incident and closure information, traffic cameras, construction alerts and message-sign displays statewide, with a Northwest Georgia regional view covering the I-75 corridor. It also links across to the neighboring Tennessee, Alabama, Florida and Carolinas systems, on a corridor that runs into Chattanooga a half hour north of Dalton.

Advertisement

Hurt in an accident with a tractor-trailer?

Ask what a police report actually establishes, what an adjuster is allowed to ask, and how long you have to act.

Trained on thousands of top injury lawyers — not a chatbot guessing.Answers in minutes, day or night.No forms. No spam. No callbacks.
1-866-CALL-HIM (225-5446)
Free24/7Any question

Which agency investigated?

The Georgia State Patrol worked this accident, which determines where the paperwork lives.

  • The crash report is a state record, obtained through the Georgia Department of Transportation's crash reporting process — not from the Whitfield County Sheriff's Office and not from the Dalton Police Department.
  • GSP works most rural interstate accidents in Georgia. Municipal and county agencies generally handle accidents inside city limits and on county roads.
  • Local 3 News does not name a trooper, a post or a case number.

Why did the tractor-trailer overturn?

Local 3 News reports the tractor-trailer lost control and overturned after the SUV struck it in the right lane. That is the entirety of the causal chain on the record.

Not stated by any source: the truck's speed, what it was hauling, whether it was loaded or running empty, the carrier's name, whether the trailer was a van, tanker or flatbed, the road surface or weather at 9 a.m. that Saturday, or any mechanical finding.

There is also no published information on whether any hazardous material was involved or whether a cargo spill contributed to the length of the closure.

How often do rollovers kill truck drivers?

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety reports that 920 large truck occupants died in 2024, and that “Forty-seven percent of large truck occupant deaths in 2024 occurred in crashes in which their vehicles rolled over” — 430 deaths. IIHS also reports that 58 percent of large truck occupant deaths that year happened in single-vehicle crashes.

IIHS separately reports that loaded tractor-trailers “require 20% to 40% more distance than cars to stop,” with worse numbers on wet or slippery roads or with poorly maintained brakes.

What we don’t know yet

  • The names and ages of both drivers. Not reported.
  • How many people were injured, and in which vehicle. The report says minor injuries, nothing more.
  • Whether anyone was taken to a hospital.
  • The exact reopening time — only “more than 2.5 hours” is published.
  • The SUV's make, model and year; the tractor-trailer's carrier, trailer type and cargo.
  • Whether the truck was loaded or empty, and its weight.
  • Speed for either vehicle. No source names one.
  • Road surface, weather and visibility at the time.
  • The code section on the citation, the court date, and any plea or outcome.
  • Whether the tractor-trailer driver was cited — no citation is reported, and no source states that none was issued.
  • Any GSP case number, post or trooper name.

How do you get the Georgia State Patrol accident report?

Because the Georgia State Patrol worked it, the report comes through the state. The Georgia Department of Transportation crash reporting page says “Police crash reports are available through Buycrash” and points to the BuyCrash portal at buycrash.lexisnexisrisk.com, with support at 1-866-215-2771 or [email protected].

GDOT also accepts a mailed request. Its form goes to:

GDOT Crash Reporting Unit
935 United Ave. SE, Bldg 24
Atlanta, GA 30316

The page lists [email protected] for questions. Costs apply through the BuyCrash vendor; GDOT's page states reports can be purchased there but does not print a fee.

The date and time on the record are Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026, just before 9 a.m., and the location is I-75 southbound at Exit 328 in Whitfield County. No source publishes a case number.

Advertisement

Ask VIC
Georgia victim assistance line

Get your questions answered.Free, any hour.

Ask what happens next, who pays for what, and what to expect from here.

Answers for victims and their families.Assistance around the clock.No forms. No cost.
(855) 5-ASKVIC
Free24/7Any question

Frequently asked questions

Is I-75 still closed in Whitfield County?
No. Local 3 News reports that authorities reopened the interstate more than 2.5 hours after the accident, which happened just before 9 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026. This is not a current closure. For live conditions, check 511 Georgia, the Georgia Department of Transportation traveler information service, at 511ga.org.

When did the I-75 accident in Whitfield County happen?
Saturday, Aug. 8, 2026, just before 9 a.m. Local 3 News describes it as a two-vehicle accident on Saturday morning, and its story carries an Aug. 8, 2026 dateline with an Aug. 10, 2026 update stamp. Aug. 8, 2026 was a Saturday, so the day of the week and the date agree.

Did this accident happen on Aug. 11?
No. Nothing in the Local 3 News report supports an Aug. 11 date. The story is dated Aug. 8, 2026, updated Aug. 10, 2026, and describes a Saturday morning accident.

Where exactly on I-75 did it happen?
On Interstate 75 southbound at Exit 328, which Local 3 News describes as near South Bypass / Connector 3, south of Dalton in Whitfield County. OpenStreetMap places the Exit 328 southbound ramp about six miles in a straight line south of downtown Dalton.

Which driver was cited?
The SUV driver. Local 3 News reports: The driver of the SUV was cited for improper lane change. It reports that an SUV made an illegal lane change and struck the tractor-trailer in the right lane.

Was the truck driver cited?
Local 3 News does not report any citation against the tractor-trailer driver. It reports only the citation against the SUV driver. The absence of a reported citation is not the same as a source stating the truck driver was cleared, and no source states that.

What is improper lane change in Georgia?
It is a moving violation tied to Georgia's lane-keeping statute. Georgia Code section 40-6-48, Driving on Roadways Laned for Traffic, provides that a vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such movement can be made with safety. The Georgia Department of Driver Services points schedule lists that section as Improper/Erratic Lane Change/Failure to Maintain Lane. No source publishes the code section written on this particular citation.

How many points is an improper lane change in Georgia?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services points schedule lists Improper/Erratic Lane Change/Failure to Maintain Lane, under code section 40-6-48, at 3 points. DDS says a driver with 15 points in a 24-month period will be suspended. Points attach on conviction, not on the issuing of a citation.

Does a citation mean the SUV driver is guilty?
No. A citation is an accusation that starts a case in traffic court. The driver is charged with a traffic offense, not convicted of one, and is presumed innocent unless the case is proven or resolved against them. Local 3 News reports no court date and no plea.

Was anyone killed in the I-75 accident?
No deaths are reported. Local 3 News reports the two-vehicle accident resulted in minor injuries and does not report any fatality.

How badly was anyone hurt?
Local 3 News reports minor injuries. It does not say how many people were hurt, which vehicle they were in, or whether anyone was taken to a hospital.

How long were the southbound lanes blocked?
More than two and a half hours. Local 3 News reported all lanes closed at Exit 328 and later reported that authorities reopened the interstate more than 2.5 hours after the accident.

Which agency investigated the I-75 accident?
The Georgia State Patrol. That makes the crash report a state record obtained through the Georgia Department of Transportation, not a Whitfield County or City of Dalton police record.

Why did the tractor-trailer overturn?
Local 3 News reports that after the SUV struck it in the right lane, the tractor-trailer lost control and overturned. No source publishes anything beyond that: no speed, no load weight, no road-surface or weather finding, and no mechanical finding.

How do I get a Georgia accident report for a Georgia State Patrol case?
The Georgia Department of Transportation says police crash reports are available through BuyCrash, at buycrash.lexisnexisrisk.com, with support at 1-866-215-2771. GDOT also accepts a mailed request form sent to GDOT Crash Reporting Unit, 935 United Ave. SE, Bldg 24, Atlanta, GA 30316, and lists [email protected] for questions.

About this report

Compiled by The Local Alert Georgia Staff from named news outlets, public agency pages, public map data and published research, each linked above. The Local Alert is not a law enforcement agency and not a law firm.

Reported and fact-checked as of .

Every source linked here was opened and verified at that time. This report reflects what was known and confirmed at that moment — it is not updated automatically as the story develops. For the current status of an active investigation, contact the agency named above.

See something wrong here?

We report from named outlets and public records, and every fact here is linked to its source. If something is inaccurate — a name, a road, an agency, a number — tell us and we will correct it and note the correction.

Report an error or request a removal